Tree Whimsy

I recently went went with my husband and son to visit my family in Kentucky. We had such an amazing visit, full of adventures and even on vacation I apparently still had to take on at least one project! Haha! It came about because my parents have always wanted a tree swing. They own land that use to be farm land with some of the most beautiful trees you’ve ever seen. So, obviously they needed a swing! After scoping out the perfect tree my dad and I got to work. I dug through a pile of old wood my dad had stored away. I came across a piece that was perfect with a gorgeous knot and lots of character. We cut it down to 42″ in length giving just enough room for two, how romantic, cue the “Aww’s”. Processed with VSCOcam with b5 preset
Using my dad’s router, we softened the edges all the way around on both the top and bottom of our plank. Drilling two (1″ in diameter) holes on both ends for the rope to slip through. We measured them in about two inches from the outer edge. This was pretty special because my dad and I drilled the holes using an antique hand drill that belonged to my great grandfather. After we had our holes drilled we took our router to them and softened the look of the hole openings.
Processed with VSCOcam with b5 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with b1 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with b1 preset
Then came the fun part! I wanted a more distressed look (I wanted it to look really old like it had been there for years). So I decided to take a chain and hammer and beat the plank to death (it’s much cheaper than therapy). I think it’s worth mentioning, when distressing wood don’t hit it too hard or it may break the plank (that may or may not have happened to me before :/ ). Next I lightly sanded down any rough areas on the plank. Gave it a two tone staining with a honey and dark mahogany and protected it with some poly. Processed with VSCOcam with b1 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with b1 preset
Lastly, we strung it up by using a beautiful and simple nautical knot, finishing the look off with some poms that add just a touch of whimsy. It was such a fun project to work on and getting to do it with my dad made it even more special. Hopefully, it will be around to enjoy for years to come.Sign Off 2Processed with VSCOcam with t1 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with t1 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with t1 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with t1 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with t1 preset
Leave a Reply

