Nautical side table gets it’s sea legs

 

This week I came into possession of  a beautiful, nautical wood table just in time to refinish it for a pool house. This side table was gorgeous back in it’s day I’m sure. However, somewhere along the way it’s warm stained finish had been compromised. Since it was damaged it was a perfect opportunity for me to completely reinvent it’s look. Originally, it’s finish was dark and heavy and garnered a beautiful mural of a ship at sea. I absolutely loved the mural but unfortunately it was a veneer. Fortunately, it didn’t have any damage whatsoever. The rest of the table I had to completely sand down to remove the nicks and scrapes.

00N0N_4dAsvrx8BTi_600x45000a0a_a45dQ4t4wZD_600x450

 

The pool house decor and material selections were of light breezy hues you would find in the most scenic beaches. With that in mind I wanted to keep the table in line with the overall pool house design. So, I chose to give it an antiqued finish with light distressing in a silvery-minty green. I wanted it to feel light, yet still old with a story to tell. After many painting techniques I finally reached the look I was after. The only problem left to solve was the pretty mural veneer. I didn’t want anything to come along and destroy it because one nick and it would have been done for. The water based poly was plenty of protection for the table but it just wasn’t going to cut it for the veneer. After much debating I went with an epoxy resin by Famowood (The high gloss stuff they use on bar tables. One coat of it is equal to 70 coats of polyurethane!!! Sheesh!!!!) This step was extremely tricky seeing as it is extremely messy. Also I was only doing the recessed mural not the whole table top, I had to tape it off and pour the perfect amount of resin onto it so not to overfill the recessed area. ( Oh and did I mention you only have 15 minutes to work any air bubbles out of the resin? I think I was holding my breath the entire time, lol!) Luckily, my first time working with it turned out to be a success and honestly it wasn’t as hard as I thought it was gonna be. If you yourself choose to work with it pay attention to your time and don’t stress out about it. Also, remember if you do mess up it can be fixed and the wonderful people at Famowood will gladly talk you through on how to fix any mistakes.

 

I really had a lovely time refinishing this pretty little side table. It turned out better than I expected and is now ready to sail the high seas once again! I hope you enjoy this project. Remember, if you have any questions about what you see here, click on the comment icon and drop me a line. Check out the before and after pics below and as always a big thank you to my loving husband and mama’s little helper!!! Thanks for stoppin’ by!Sign Off 2

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with g3 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with g3 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with g3 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with g3 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with g3 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with g3 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with g3 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with g3 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with g3 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with g3 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with g3 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

2 thoughts on “Nautical side table gets it’s sea legs

Leave a Reply

