Kitchen Fable

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
Hey y’all! I’m super excited to be talking kitchen tables with you this week. Not so long ago I rescued a 1980’s solid oak corner bench kitchen table. As this craigslist find sat there looking decrepit and lonely I could hear heart wrenching Sarah Mclachlan music playing in my mind. I could feel guilt, yes guilt welling up inside of me and I knew I couldn’t leave it behind. Darn you Sarah Mclachlan! So, thanks to guilt and the flashback of caged animal commercials brought on by one, Mrs. Mclachlan’s heavenly melodic tunes, I will be proving that even a common craigslist find can transcend into something inspiring.

 Following the vision in my head I ditched the the corner seat and one of the smaller benches. (Don’t worry I didn’t really throw them out. I just used them for something else.) It was also clear that the old 80’s finish had to go! So, with belt sander in hand I worked the wood until it was smooth as silk. I stained it a beautiful hue called River Rock and protected it with a few coats of water based polyurethane. This alone already looked a thousand times better. However, I was far from finished with this piece.

 

For added comfort I upholstered both bench seats with an easy to clean faux leather. I also knew I wanted back cushions, which I achieved with the help of my dad. I didn’t want to attach back cushions permanently to the bench in case I wanted to change the look later on. So together we came up with an idea that worked out better than Ellen Degeneres’ Covergirl partnership . Using two rectangle-shapeed plywood boards I glued one piece of 3″ thick foam of the same size to each piece of plywood. Then I upholstered them using batting and the same faux leather as the seats. To attach them my dad came up with the idea of using industrial velcro. Which allows you to remove the entire back cushion to clean any spilled drink or food that might get behind it. (Refer to the diagram below to see how I upholstered the bench seating.)

 

Bench drawing

 

After my table and bench seating was complete I wanted to add a seat to either end giving an overall total seating for six. I know I could have just kept the other  bench and corner seat for maximum seating. However, I wanted to elevate the look by injecting personality and style. Adding chairs would create the perfect opportunity to do so. I acquired some beautiful antique chairs that I fully restored and upholstered in a fabric that marries together the table finish and faux leather. (You can see my whole antique chair restoration process by checking out my blog post: Vintage Dreams.)

 

To complete the look and continue the conversation between the pieces, I crafted a lumbar pillow for my the larger bench using the same fabric as my chairs. As for the details, I gave it welting, and I embroidered a capital letter “B” to give a final personal touch. In the end I achieved a high-end look that has a defined personality, and comfortable sophistication.Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

 

I hope this project inspires you to attempt your own makeover and if you have any questions don’t forget you can submit them by clicking on the comment icon. Be sure to check out the before and after pics below along with mama’s little helper. Thanks for stoppin’ by!

Sign Off 2

Before

Before

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

After

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with f2 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with f2 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with f2 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with f2 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with f2 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with f2 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with f2 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with f2 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with f2 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with f2 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with f2 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with f2 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

 

Leave a Reply

