A Very SCOOBY DOO Birthday!

We meet again! This time to celebrate my sweet little boy’s very first birthday. I was SO excited (probably more than he was) that I may have went over board just a little. LOL! I just love him so much I can’t help myself. After all, it is his first birthday and he absolutely adores Scooby Doo. So I thought if I’m going to do this then I’m really going to DOO this thing! (jump in the air, freeze frame style) Yeah! KP party 11
After snatching up some Scooby party plates, cups, and napkins I got inspired. They had a ‘groovy’ watercolor tie dye look to them that I decided to embrace. With that in mind I ended up hand painting an enormous birthday banner featuring Scooby and the gang. For the overall color palette I went with bright, lively hues pulled from the mystery machine, like lime greens, teals, and oranges! I also crafted some homemade pinwheels and origami flowers in those hues. As for the food and beverages I decided to serve whatever Shaggy and Scooby would eat. (Although a shorter list would have been what wouldn’t those two eat) So I narrowed it down to hamburgers, hotdogs, soda and other yummy junk foods. Ah but what to serve them in?….hmmm…I was in Petsmart one day and came across these amazing dog bowls complete with lime green peace signs and paw prints plastered on them and on clearance no less!!!!! How lucky can one girl be!? To complete the look I filled one of the dog bowls with dog bone shaped graham crackers that had Scooby embossed across the front of each treat. 
KP party 7KP party 3KP party 10KP party 13KP party 9 copyKP party 30
The details were all coming together, balloons √ utensils √ green and teal ice tubs √√ cake…erkkkk!(screeching to a halt). Whoa! I thought about hiring someone to bake the cake but she wanted an unrealistic amount. So there went that idea. No, no this had to be on me and I had already come this far. I mean I’ve seen Cake Boss, how hard could it be? :/ Okay fondant seemed daunting but it really wasn’t that bad to work with. It being my first real cake (meaning not the cake batter I would make at 3am in college and eat before I actually baked it) I don’t think I did too bad. Besides, my son loved his psychedelic mystery machine smash cake and that’s all that really matters.KP party 19KP party 20
All in all I think everyone had a great time and it’s an experience I will never forget.Processed with VSCOcam with g3 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with g3 presetKP party 27KP party 26KP party 25KP party 23Processed with VSCOcam with g3 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with g3 preset
So, thank you to everyone who came, thank you to my husband for putting up with all my craziness, and Happy 1st Birthday Kevin Parker! Mama loves you!!!Sign Off 2
2 thoughts on “A Very SCOOBY DOO Birthday!

    • First of all, thanks for showing interest Patricia! The banner wasn’t purchased. After I couldn’t find what I was looking for online I actually painted the banner by hand on a large canvas. By canvas, I mean a single white bed sheet they sell at Walmart! LOL! Its cheaper than you could buy the fabric for. To get the tie-dyed back ground effect you can either tie-dye your sheet or just dilute acrylic paint with water. All the characters are painted with acrylics. Hope this helps! – Designer, Lyndsey Bush

Leave a Reply

